Stuffed Sloppy Joe Bell Peppers

If you know me, you know I LOVE me some sloppy joes. Manwich, yes please! (with a side of fries/tater tots and beans, of course)!

When my husband and I were dating, we were planning to make dinner together and sloppy joe’s was on my mind so that’s what we planned to make. While at the grocery store, I go down the aisle and get the can of Manwich and bring it back to where my husband was and he could not believe that I eat sloppy joe’s from Manwich. Something I learned about Justin that night was that he can make a great sloppy joe concoction. Thumbs up to a hubby that enjoys cooking!

Well, last week, I was craving sloppy joe’s, but I didn’t know Justin’s recipe off the top of my head so I decided to try my own from different places that I found online. I also wanted to try and make it healthy/with ingredients that I already had at home, so I thought it would be good to make a sloppy joe inside a bell pepper. Delish AND healthy! Needless to say, no more Manwich for me!

Again, I apologize for my horrible food photography, but don’t let that take away from how yummy they really are! 🙂

photo 1 (1) photo 2

Here’s the recipe:

2 lb ground turkey (beef would be yummy too!)
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 (6-oz) can tomato paste
½ cup organic chicken broth
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning

  • First, cut and empty out your bell peppers (I made 4)
  • Put them in the oven at 350 degrees.
  • Cook ground beef in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until browned; drain and set aside.
  • Melt oil in skillet; add onion and bell pepper. Cook until onion is tender.
  • Stir in tomato paste, chicken broth, vinegar and Cajun seasoning.
  • Return beef to skillet, and cook 10 minutes or until sauce thickens.
  • I drizzled some mustard on top just because I thought it could be good…and it was!
  • Take out the bell peppers once you can tell they are getting soft (this might be around 30 min after you put them in) and stuff them with the sloppy joes! I put a little bit of cheese on 2 of the joes before putting it back in the oven for about 10 minutes!

Take out of the oven, serve, and ENJOY!

Leave a comment